Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale
BS in Chemistry — Forensic Science Concentration
Overview
Forensic science concentration within the Bachelor of Science in Chemistry at Dakota Wesleyan University, adding criminal justice, writing and statistics courses to the chemistry core.
- Official program name
- Bachelor of Science in Chemistry - Concentration in Forensic Science
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Science · major: ChemistrySource: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- Subject focus
- Concentration inside a broader degree — Forensic ScienceA formal concentration, track or specialization inside a broader degree such as psychology, sociology or chemistry. The awarded degree is the broader one.Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
- Forensic type
- Laboratory forensic scienceA natural-science degree built around chemistry, biology and laboratory analysis of evidence. Laboratory and prerequisite requirements are listed on the profile.Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
- School
- Location
- Mitchell, SDSource: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
- Subjects
- Forensic Science — formal concentration / track (“Concentration in Forensic Science”)
- Required credits
- Not verified
- Duration
- Not verified
Entry pathway
Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.
Why this program is listed
Formal forensic science concentration in the B.S. Chemistry with its own required courses; the web page names it Forensic Science & Investigation.
Formal Concentration in Forensic Science listed under the B.S. Chemistry in the catalog, with its own required courses.
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science and related subjects at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal concentrations, never certificates or one-elective degrees. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campusSource: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
Curriculum
Curriculum
- Web page describes the concentration as combining physical and social sciences, with courses such as Introduction to Criminal Justice, Criminal Law and Criminal Investigation.Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Internship
- Students are strongly encouraged to seek internship opportunities with the coursework.Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Natural-science content
- The concentration sits within the B.S. Chemistry, whose catalog listing includes chemistry, physics and calculus courses with labs.Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Careers and licensure
Career and licensure statements for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
A degree does not guarantee police academy admission, sworn officer certification, federal employment, a security clearance, a position with a named agency, a forensic laboratory job or eligibility to practice as a psychologist. Those have separate training, scientific prerequisites, examinations or hiring requirements set by the agency, state or licensing board. Academic degrees vs police academy training
Admissions
Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tests
- SAT / ACT
- Not requiredTest-optional universitySource: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Tuition, 12-16 credit hours per semester (2026-27 costs table; period not stated)From the school-wide rate table for this level | $33,600 | (basis not stated by the institution) · 2026-2027Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Student Services and Activities (2026-27 costs table)
- $640Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
- Technology Fee (2026-27 costs table)
- $880Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Scholarships and funding
Academic scholarships Institutional scholarship
Eligibility: Accepted applicants are considered automatically; based on high school GPA (transfer students: college GPA)
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
FEPAC program accreditation
This program does not appear in FEPAC's accredited-program list. FEPAC accredits forensic science programs only and is optional; its absence is not a sign that a program is illegitimate, and the school's other programs or institutional accreditation do not imply it.
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- dwu.edu/files/galleries/2025-2026_Catalog-0001.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 24, 2026
- dwu.edu/forensic-science — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026
- dwu.edu/tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 24, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
BA in Chemistry — Forensic Science Concentration
BS in Criminal Justice — Forensic Science Concentration
Criminal Justice Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Dakota Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.