Skip to content
Criminal JusticeDegrees

Dakota Wesleyan University

Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice

Bachelor'sBADedicated degreeOn campus

Overview

Bachelor of Arts with a criminal justice major at Dakota Wesleyan University: a 39-credit major with 24 core credits and at least 15 elective credits.

Official program name
Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Arts · major: Criminal Justice
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree itself is in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science or a closely related justice subject.
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
School
Location
Mitchell, SD
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Subjects
Criminal Justice — core of the degree
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified

Entry pathway

Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.

Why this program is listed

Dedicated BA with a major in Criminal Justice.

Major titled Criminal Justice; core courses in criminology, criminal law, probation and parole, ethics and constitutional criminal justice.

Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science and related subjects at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal concentrations, never certificates or one-elective degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Major core of 24 required credits plus at least 15 elective credits (39 total).
    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Capstone

  • CRJ 433 Seminar in Criminal Justice is described as an advanced seminar and capstone experience.
    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Internship

  • The catalog notes that a criminal and personal background check may be required before any internship within the criminal justice major.
    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Transfer pathways

  • An associate degree in human services from Mitchell Technical Institute may be applied toward the bachelor's degree, per the catalog.
    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Careers and licensure

An academic degree and an occupational licence are different things.

Career and licensure statements for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

A degree does not guarantee police academy admission, sworn officer certification, federal employment, a security clearance, a position with a named agency, a forensic laboratory job or eligibility to practice as a psychologist. Those have separate training, scientific prerequisites, examinations or hiring requirements set by the agency, state or licensing board. Academic degrees vs police academy training

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not requiredTest-optional university
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition, 12-16 credit hours per semester (2026-27 costs table; period not stated)From the school-wide rate table for this level$33,600(basis not stated by the institution) · 2026-2027Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Other published fees

Student Services and Activities (2026-27 costs table)
$640
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Technology Fee (2026-27 costs table)
$880
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Graduate funding guide
  • Academic scholarships Institutional scholarship

    Eligibility: Accepted applicants are considered automatically; based on high school GPA (transfer students: college GPA)

    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation

Two different things: the school's institutional accreditation, and FEPAC accreditation of this exact forensic science program.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

FEPAC program accreditation

This program does not appear in FEPAC's accredited-program list. FEPAC accredits forensic science programs only and is optional; its absence is not a sign that a program is illegitimate, and the school's other programs or institutional accreditation do not imply it.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 24, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. dwu.edu/criminal-justice — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026
  3. dwu.edu/files/galleries/2025-2026_Catalog-0001.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 24, 2026
  4. dwu.edu/tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 24, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Format: Fully online · Asynchronous
Location: Charles Town, WVSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: four years (full-time attendance; varies with transfer credits) · 120 credits
Tuition: $360 per credit · All students — Standard rate, undergraduate
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Criminal Justice
View program
American Public University System logo

American Public University System

Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice

Bachelor'sBSDedicated degreeCJ with forensic focusBachelor of Science
Format: Online
Location: Charles Town, WVSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: $360 per credit · All students — Listed rate (first of the rates shown)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Criminal Justice · Digital Forensics
View program
Anderson University logo

Anderson University

Bachelor of Arts (BA), Criminal Justice

Bachelor'sBADedicated degreeBachelor of Arts
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Anderson, SCSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: 4 Years (8 Semesters) (seated program) · 122 credits
Tuition: $440 per credit · All students — Online/Hybrid undergraduate, per credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Criminal Justice
View program

Criminal Justice Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Dakota Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.