Skip to content
Criminal JusticeDegrees

Dakota Wesleyan University

Associate of Arts in Criminal Justice

AssociateAADedicated degreeOn campus

Overview

Associate of Arts in Criminal Justice at Dakota Wesleyan University: general education courses plus 21 criminal justice credits.

Official program name
Associate of Arts in Criminal Justice
Awarded degree
Associate of Arts · major: Criminal Justice
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Degree level
Associate
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree itself is in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science or a closely related justice subject.
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
School
Location
Mitchell, SD
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Subjects
Criminal Justice — core of the degree
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Associate of Arts in Criminal Justice.

Degree titled criminal justice; 21 criminal justice credits plus general education.

Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science and related subjects at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal concentrations, never certificates or one-elective degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Core of Introduction to Criminal Justice, Criminology, Criminal Law and Probation and Parole plus criminal justice electives (21 credits).
    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Internship

  • The catalog notes that a criminal and personal background check may be required before any internship within the criminal justice major.
    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Careers and licensure

An academic degree and an occupational licence are different things.

Career and licensure statements for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

A degree does not guarantee police academy admission, sworn officer certification, federal employment, a security clearance, a position with a named agency, a forensic laboratory job or eligibility to practice as a psychologist. Those have separate training, scientific prerequisites, examinations or hiring requirements set by the agency, state or licensing board. Academic degrees vs police academy training

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not requiredTest-optional university
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition, 12-16 credit hours per semester (2026-27 costs table; period not stated)From the school-wide rate table for this level$33,600(basis not stated by the institution) · 2026-2027Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Other published fees

Student Services and Activities (2026-27 costs table)
$640
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Technology Fee (2026-27 costs table)
$880
Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Graduate funding guide
  • Academic scholarships Institutional scholarship

    Eligibility: Accepted applicants are considered automatically; based on high school GPA (transfer students: college GPA)

    Source: dwu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

School-wide awards are listed because they apply at this degree level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation

Two different things: the school's institutional accreditation, and FEPAC accreditation of this exact forensic science program.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

FEPAC program accreditation

This program does not appear in FEPAC's accredited-program list. FEPAC accredits forensic science programs only and is optional; its absence is not a sign that a program is illegitimate, and the school's other programs or institutional accreditation do not imply it.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 24, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. dwu.edu/files/galleries/2025-2026_Catalog-0001.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 24, 2026
  3. dwu.edu/tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 24, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Arizona Western College

Administration of Justice Studies (Associate of Arts)

AssociateAADedicated degreeTransfer-orientedAssociate of Arts
Format: Campus
Location: Yuma, AZ
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $105 per credit · In-state — Arizona (in-state) residents, Yuma, per credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Criminal Justice · Corrections · Homeland Security
View program

Arkansas State University-Beebe

Associate of Science in Criminal Justice

AssociateASDedicated degreeTransfer-orientedAssociate of Science
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Beebe, ARSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: $145 – $185 per credit · In-state — In-State, per credit hour, Tier 1 to Tier 3 (tier varies by course) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Criminal Justice
View program

Arkansas State University-Beebe

Associate of Applied Science in Criminal Justice

AssociateAASDedicated degreeAppliedAssociate of Applied Science
Format: Campus
Location: Beebe, AR
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: $145 – $185 per credit · In-state — In-State, per credit hour, Tier 1 to Tier 3 (tier varies by course) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Criminal Justice
View program

Criminal Justice Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Dakota Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.