Skip to content
Criminal JusticeDegrees
Thomas College logo

Thomas College

BS in Criminal Justice — Forensic Science Concentration

Bachelor'sBSConcentrationOn campus

Overview

Forensic science concentration of the 121-credit BS in Criminal Justice, with courses on crime scene processing, evidence evaluation and fingerprints.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice - Forensic Science Concentration
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice · major: Criminal Justice
Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Subject focus
Concentration inside a broader degree — Forensic ScienceA formal concentration, track or specialization inside a broader degree such as psychology, sociology or chemistry. The awarded degree is the broader one.
Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Forensic type
Criminal justice with a forensic focusA criminal justice degree with forensic courses, a track or a concentration. It is not equivalent to a laboratory-intensive forensic science degree.
Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026
School
Location
Waterville, ME
Subjects
Forensic Science — formal concentration / track (“Forensic Science concentration”)Crime Scene Investigation — formal concentration / track (“Crime scene processing and evidence evaluation”)
Tracks / concentrations
Forensic Science
Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Required credits
121 credit hours
Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Duration
Not verified

Entry pathway

Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.

Why this program is listed

Named forensic science concentration with its own key courses.

Forensic science concentration inside the BS in Criminal Justice covering crime scene processing and evidence evaluation.

Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science and related subjects at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal concentrations, never certificates or one-elective degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Key courses include science of fingerprints, death investigation, evidence evaluation and human genetics.
    Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Laboratory components

  • Mock simulations of crime scene processing and evidence evaluations.
    Source: thomas.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Careers and licensure

An academic degree and an occupational licence are different things.

Career and licensure statements for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

A degree does not guarantee police academy admission, sworn officer certification, federal employment, a security clearance, a position with a named agency, a forensic laboratory job or eligibility to practice as a psychologist. Those have separate training, scientific prerequisites, examinations or hiring requirements set by the agency, state or licensing board. Academic degrees vs police academy training

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Graduate funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Two different things: the school's institutional accreditation, and FEPAC accreditation of this exact forensic science program.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

FEPAC program accreditation

This program does not appear in FEPAC's accredited-program list. FEPAC accredits forensic science programs only and is optional; its absence is not a sign that a program is illegitimate, and the school's other programs or institutional accreditation do not imply it.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 24, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. thomas.edu/programs/criminal-justice-forensics-concentration-bs/ — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Dakota Wesleyan University

BS in Chemistry — Forensic Science Concentration

Bachelor'sBSConcentrationLaboratory scienceBachelor of Science
Format: Campus
Location: Mitchell, SD
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $33,600 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Tuition, 12-16 credit hours per semester (2026-27 costs table; period not stated) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Forensic Science
View program

Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale

BA in Criminal Justice — Forensics Concentration

Bachelor'sBAConcentrationCJ with forensic focusBachelor of Arts
Format: Campus
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: 38 Months (estimate; time to completion varies) (estimate varying by case-by-case factors, per the page note) · 123 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Criminal Justice · Forensic Science · Crime Scene Investigation
View program

Criminal Justice Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Thomas College. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.