Skip to content
Criminal JusticeDegrees
University of North Texas logo

University of North Texas · Department of Biological Sciences

BS in Biology — Forensic Science Concentration

Bachelor'sBSConcentrationOn campus

Overview

Bachelor of Science in Biology with a Forensic Science concentration: 26 advanced credit hours of forensic science courses, laboratory instruction, a capstone, and admission to the forensic science program by separate application.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Biology with a Concentration in Forensic Science
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science · major: Biology
Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Subject focus
Concentration inside a broader degree — Forensic ScienceA formal concentration, track or specialization inside a broader degree such as psychology, sociology or chemistry. The awarded degree is the broader one.
Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Forensic type
Laboratory forensic scienceA natural-science degree built around chemistry, biology and laboratory analysis of evidence. Laboratory and prerequisite requirements are listed on the profile.
Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
School
University of North Texas — Department of Biological Sciences
Source: unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Location
Denton, TX
Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Subjects
Forensic Science — formal concentration / track
Tracks / concentrations
Forensic Science
Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Required credits
120 credit hours
Source: unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Duration
estimated 4 years (estimated time to complete as printed)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Entry pathway

Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.

Why this program is listed

Formal Forensic Science concentration within the BS in Biology; the concentration is a laboratory natural-science curriculum.

Natural-science bachelor's degree with a formal Forensic Science concentration of 26 advanced credit hours.

Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science and related subjects at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal concentrations, never certificates or one-elective degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Students complete a capstone through an offsite laboratory internship, undergraduate research, or a capstone thesis paper.
    Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Internship

  • Background checks may be required for the internships offered through the program.
    Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Laboratory components

  • Concentration courses include lecture/lab courses such as forensic microscopy and forensic chemistry.
    Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Other

  • The program page states that the degrees are accredited by FEPAC (the accreditation record is loaded separately from FEPAC's own list).
    Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Careers and licensure

An academic degree and an occupational licence are different things.
  • Career and licensure statements. Students take the Texas General Forensic Analyst License Exam in their last semester; passing makes them eligible for the forensic analyst license upon getting a job in the field.Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

A degree does not guarantee police academy admission, sworn officer certification, federal employment, a security clearance, a position with a named agency, a forensic laboratory job or eligibility to practice as a psychologist. Those have separate training, scientific prerequisites, examinations or hiring requirements set by the agency, state or licensing board. Academic degrees vs police academy training

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA for application to the forensic science program (separate from university admission)
Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Opens first Monday of January; closes end of the second week of March · for Fall

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Opens August 15; closes end of the second week of October · for Spring

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: forensic.unt.edu · verified October 24, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Graduate funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Two different things: the school's institutional accreditation, and FEPAC accreditation of this exact forensic science program.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

FEPAC program accreditation

This program does not appear in FEPAC's accredited-program list. FEPAC accredits forensic science programs only and is optional; its absence is not a sign that a program is illegitimate, and the school's other programs or institutional accreditation do not imply it.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 24, 2026.
  1. forensic.unt.edu/admissions/admissions.html — Official admissions page, verified October 24, 2026
  2. forensic.unt.edu/student-resources/degree-requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. unt.edu/academics/programs/forensic-science-biology-degree.html — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Dakota Wesleyan University

BS in Chemistry — Forensic Science Concentration

Bachelor'sBSConcentrationLaboratory scienceBachelor of Science
Format: Campus
Location: Mitchell, SD
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $33,600 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Tuition, 12-16 credit hours per semester (2026-27 costs table; period not stated) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLC
Subjects: Forensic Science
View program

Keiser University-Ft Lauderdale

BA in Criminal Justice — Forensics Concentration

Bachelor'sBAConcentrationCJ with forensic focusBachelor of Arts
Format: Campus
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: 38 Months (estimate; time to completion varies) (estimate varying by case-by-case factors, per the page note) · 123 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Criminal Justice · Forensic Science · Crime Scene Investigation
View program

Criminal Justice Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of North Texas. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.