Skip to content
Criminal JusticeDegrees
New Mexico Highlands University logo

New Mexico Highlands University · Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice

Master of Arts in Criminology

Master'sMADedicated degreeOnline

Overview

An online Master of Arts in Criminology of at least 32 credits with a criminology core and thesis, professional paper or comprehensive exam completion options.

Official program name
Master of Arts in Criminology
Awarded degree
Master of Arts · major: Criminology
Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree itself is in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science or a closely related justice subject.
Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
School
Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Location
Las Vegas, NMFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Subjects
Criminology — core of the degree
Required credits
32 credits minimum
Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Arts in Criminology presented as an online degree by the department.

Degree title names criminology; core curriculum centers on criminological theory and criminal behavior.

Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in criminal justice, criminology, forensic science and related subjects at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal concentrations, never certificates or one-elective degrees. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
Online
Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Online delivery
Online delivery type not verified
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Not verified
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Criminology core of nine credits plus four foundational courses (13 credits) and electives.
    Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Capstone

  • Professional paper track or comprehensive exam track as alternatives to the thesis.
    Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Thesis and non-thesis options

  • Thesis track: SOCI 6990 (4 credits) and a thesis with a criminological focus.
    Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Careers and licensure

An academic degree and an occupational licence are different things.

Career and licensure statements for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

A degree does not guarantee police academy admission, sworn officer certification, federal employment, a security clearance, a position with a named agency, a forensic laboratory job or eligibility to practice as a psychologist. Those have separate training, scientific prerequisites, examinations or hiring requirements set by the agency, state or licensing board. Academic degrees vs police academy training

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate (resident), tuition and fees per credit hour (institution table; not stated for this online program)From the school-wide rate table for this level$328.35per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesCalculated tuition$10,507.20 = 32 credits × $328.35 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate (non-resident), tuition and fees per credit hour (institution table; not stated for this online program)From the school-wide rate table for this level$527.35per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesCalculated tuition$16,875.20 = 32 credits × $527.35 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Graduate funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Two different things: the school's institutional accreditation, and FEPAC accreditation of this exact forensic science program.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

FEPAC program accreditation

This program does not appear in FEPAC's accredited-program list. FEPAC accredits forensic science programs only and is optional; its absence is not a sign that a program is illegitimate, and the school's other programs or institutional accreditation do not imply it.

State authorization (online students)

  • NMHU participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) and lists the states where it is approved to offer online programs. Official pageSource: nmhu.edu · verified October 24, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 24, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. nmhu.edu/landing-criminal-justice/ — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026
  3. nmhu.edu/office-of-the-registrar/tuition-and-fees/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 24, 2026
  4. nmhu.edu/online-programs-sara/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 24, 2026
  5. nmhu.edu/sociology-anthropology-criminal-justice/criminology-core-curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026
  6. nmhu.edu/sociology-anthropology-criminal-justice/master-of-arts-in-criminology/ — Official program page, verified October 24, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Format: Campus · Online
Location: Richmond, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Online, per credit hour
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Criminology · Criminal Justice
View program
Format: Campus · Fully online
Location: Pittsburgh, PASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: 3 semesters with a fall start; 4 semesters with a spring or summer start (campus page); as few as 12 months (online page) (conditional minimum; online page says 'In as few as 12 months') · 30 credits
Tuition: $800 per credit · All students — Online program page
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: MSCHE
Subjects: Criminal Justice · Criminology · Forensic Psychology
View program
Format: Campus · Online · Hybrid
Location: Honolulu, HISchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: finish in 12 months (as printed on the program page; accelerated 10-week terms, four terms per year) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: WSCUC
Subjects: Criminal Justice · Criminology
View program

Criminal Justice Degrees is independent and not affiliated with New Mexico Highlands University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.